Programs vs Lifestyle.

Nothing gets your heart going more than going outside, whatever the weather, with the intention of sharing Christ. Fighting the initial fear of rejection, the different people and worldviews you encounter, the debates, the wins and the losses. It changes you. It changes the way you see the world.

Matt 9:36 When He saw the crowds, He was moved with compassion for them, because they were harassed and helpless, like sheep without a shepherd.

I haven’t had the chance to speak to anyone one on one since Saturday…and its killing me. I have never felt like this since I got saved in 2003. What started as a simple decision to witness to a person a day, has led to a shift in my heart…I feel like I’m closer, albeit by a fraction, to the heart of God in relation to evangelism.

The choice has led to the feeling. The choice came first. The emotions that come with it came after. I can’t explain it. It has become unacceptable to me NOT to share Christ at every opportunity. Its best described as a sense of urgency…I have to do something. Listen to words of Jeremiah:

Jer 20:9 But if I say, “I will not remember Him Or speak anymore in His name,” Then in my heart it becomes like a burning fire Shut up in my bones; And I am weary of holding it in, And I cannot endure it.

I think I understand what he felt a little better. God loves people, and He is working through us to reach them. The best we have to offer is the best God can use. If the best we have is an apathetic approach, a reluctance or indifference then how can we reach the world? We treat evangelism like a program….let me explain:

  1. Outreach

We have set days put aside for outreach – handing out fliers and one on one witnessing. Usually Saturdays. Some churches will include the odd Friday night or other days of the week. Some for an hour or so in the mornings etc..

  1. Special Events

When we have a baptism or a play or any special event, we encourage folks to invite unsaved friends and family more so than any other day…because it a special.

  1. Impact teams and Missions

Churches will send groups or people to other churches inland or abroad to help out, with Dramas and concerts. These trips can be invaluable especially for a new pastor.

…But…what are we doing when there is no outreach? When the next ‘Special event’ is a month away? When an impact team is cancelled? We rely on the program to be the platform we use to be a witness…God forbid! The good news should be shared every day! Outside of any given program. It should be the lifestyle of a born again believer.

If 10 people from your church committed to sharing Christ with one person each EVERYDAY, within 5 years you would have spoken to 18,250 people! If 95% rejected the message and only 5% came to church, you would have grown by 912 people…pause and think about that for a second…what if the more that 5% respond?

What if 20 people did this? Or 40…or 100? As you go on this journey, you will find that you will begin to change. God will entrust you with His heart for people because you have positioned yourself in that light. Catching a glimpse of His heart for people is life changing.

“Or what woman who has 10 silver coins, if she loses one coin, does not light a lamp, sweep the house, and search carefully until she finds it? When she finds it, she calls her women friends and neighbors together, saying, ‘Rejoice with me, because I have found the silver coin I lost!’ I tell you, in the same way, there is joy in the presence of God’s angels over one sinner who repents.” – Jesus


On Monday I visited Matthew at his hostel (the guy that got saved on Sunday night.) I bought him a bible and spent a minute or two with him. He came to our mid week service and is also coming to the concert on Saturday. He found out about the church through a flier that was left in that hostel almost a year ago…think about that..

How many opportunities do we miss because we are waiting for the ‘program’? Maximize on the programs but let this thought…- JESUS IS COMING BACK SOON -… motivate you and I to go beyond the program and allow out Fathers passion to consume us.

Please…Go and declare. Don’t wait for Saturday. Grab some fliers…even if its by yourself…and go. Tell someone Jesus died for them.

Quote of the Day

“Is not the commission of our Lord still binding upon us? Can we not do more than now we are doing?” — William Carey

Yours

Farayi

Leave a Reply

