Day 10…Rejection

Friday night 10.45pm 28/08/2015

To overcome rejection you must first be rejected.

“If the world hates you, know that it has hated me before it hated you.” – Jesus

I went to a funeral today. Two parents were burying their baby. He was coming up to 2 just before he passed and the atmosphere was both sombre and thought provoking. We listened quietly as the Preacher spoke on the frailty of life, we watched as one lady burst into tears during a hymn and ran of the church, and walked slowly behind the hearse that carried his body.

Two things, I will never forget: The size of a baby’s coffin and the sound of earth as it hit the coffin – a chilling reminder that death is final. I know the mother. She comes to our church. She has been very strong throughout and her faith has been inspiring. Today she looked a little withdrawn from reality but had an air of dignity about her.

We had bible study in the evening, and I was close to cancelling, but Ogechi, a lady from our church, suggested it would be a great opportunity to pray for the family, so we did. It was a good study, and people stayed till close to Midnight! I snuck out around 10pm to hand out some fliers.

“Come now, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go into such and such a town and spend a year there and trade and make a profit”— yet you do not know what tomorrow will bring. What is your life? For you are a mist that appears for a little time and then vanishes” – James the Apostle

I drove for about 20mins before arriving in Sydenham, bumped into someone I know and we walked and talked for a while. She drew me away from where I was intending to go, but as a result, I ended up bumping into a young man with a basketball. He was born into a Muslim home, both parents were Muslims. For a part of his life he was raised by his aunt who was a Christian, so he went to church with her…he currently identifies himself as a Muslim, but admits he doesn’t do what he is meant to.

We walked, up the high street and I managed to share the full gospel with him. I reiterated that he doesn’t have to work to please God, Jesus did it all at the cross….then something interesting happened…his eyes kinda glazed over and he slowed down and said his bus had just arrived. I turned around and indeed there was a bus, I shook his hand and thanked him for his time.

I kept walking up, got into my car and sat down. 2 minutes later the same boy walked passed me!! The whole bus thing was a ruse to get me off his back – at least I assume so…sigh


What I learned

  1. I have a problem with rejection. I immediately thought to myself, maybe I spoke to long…maybe my illustrations were unnecessary, or something must be wrong with me if I cant get through to him. When I told my wife the story she laughed and reminded me the seed is the same, but the soil has to receive it. Its something we all have to overcome.
  2. Since it was late, I was this close to giving up, but I was determined to find one person and I prayed to that effect. God is faithful, the harvest is plentiful, but the workers are too busy with other things. Determination and consistency is key.

Get over rejection, get under conviction and get beside someone that doesn’t know Jesus. Go declare!

Yours

Pst Farayi


Leave a Reply

