Day 8…What’s your motive?

Wednesday 26/08/2015 6pm

I know WHAT I’m doing…I need to focus on WHY.

1 Thessalonians 2:4 But just as we have been approved by God to be entrusted with the gospel, so we speak, not to please man, but to please God who tests our hearts.

I preached for my good friend Pastor Abiola today. I had the awesome privilege of sharing Gods word with about 50 people. Two visitors responded to Gods word and prayed to receive Christ. To God be all the glory, honour and power.

I got to Sutton two hours before the service, had a bite to eat and went up and down the high street to speak to someone. Not having any fliers for the local church I found it difficult to find a reason to stop a stranger and share Christ. I rang Pastor Abiola to find out if he had any fliers or if any of his folks were outreaching before service…there was neither of both.

Sutton High Street
Sutton High Street

After the service we went to Nandos and I met a Zimbabwean who worked there and invited him to church. He already knew Pst Abiola and had been to the church once. We gave him a flier and encouraged him. It was a good day!

Trying to find someone to witness to outside Sydenham was interesting because I was helping build someone else’s church. Would I give the same effort? Drive? Zeal? I realised that witnessing has more to do with sharing Christ than it has to to with building a church. That a fringe benefit. If we don’t see the results in church growth would we continue to press in? I’d like to hope so. Jesus is coming back soon.


What I learnt:

  1. Have generic tracts, so you can witness in any area and be able to speak to people with confidence. I am going to invest in some. Ray comfort has coins with the 10 commandments written on them.
  2.  At day 8, I find myself always looking for an opportunity to speak to someone. Having this idea of one person a day shapes your outlook, its not an outreach, its a lifestyle.

God and declare!

Yours Farayi

Leave a Reply

