Day 6…Preach in and out of season

Monday 24/08/2015 6.30pm

There are many reasons not to preach: “its the pastors job, I’m tired, It’s not outreach, I will later, I’m with my wife, my husband doesn’t approve, the kids need me, I don’t have to preach to be saved…etc..”

There is one good reason to preach: Hell.

2 Tim 4: 2 Preach the word of God. Be prepared, whether the time is favourable or not. Patiently correct, rebuke, and encourage your people with good teaching.

I did my first selfie video today. Will try and get it released tonight! I drove to one part of Sydenham…you’ll see it in the video…and there was no one there! I walked around for about 5 minutes and past a few people. I don’t know why I didn’t try to talk to them. Its that initial apprehension I guess.

I jumped back in the car and drove to Penge East, and walked around for a bit. I saw a few kids messing around. There were about four of them, and it was raining. I assumed they wouldn’t talk to me in the rain, so I kept walking!…it was an excuse really.

I spend a few moments taking a look at an abandoned church building and daydreaming that we will occupy it one day! As I headed back to the car, I was convincing myself to go home.

“No one will talk to you Farayi. Its wet, raining and miserable”

I drove towards Sydenham High Street and there were a lot of people. The rain had subsided a little. “Lets just do it! God help me find ONE person today”. I gave a flier to a man named George. He was 45yrs old and separated from his partner, and recently became a grandfather and now talking to his daughter.

He had a cigarette in one hand and a can of very strong beer in the other. I asked him if he believes in God and he said he did, but every person needs to work out their own path, because there are many ways to God. I gave him my full attention and he spoke for a while, before I asked him what he thought of Christianity. He said it was good for saving people!

After he finished I started sharing my testimony with him and when I got the the point where I got saved he interrupted and changed the direction of the conversation. We started to discuss the conception of relative truth. At this point I was thinking why did I stop someone who was intoxicated…I managed to bring the conversation back to Jesus, and a strange thing happened…

…The minute I stated talking about Jesus, he swung around, thanked me, and walked off. No warning. lol.

God help me speak to at least ONE person today, I prayed. I then bumped into Junior. he was a lot younger and he believed in God, but wasn’t sure how to get to heaven. He kept walking as we talked, and I asked him a few questions to try and understand what he believed.

We went through the ten commandments and he saw that he was a sinner before God and it concerned him. At this point he stopped walking and took time to listen to my testimony. I explained the full gospel of Jesus, and asked him if he wanted to give his heart to God….He said yes! Praise God. I took him through the prayer briefly and directed him to the church and let him go.

Rain

NO WORD OF A LIE…as soon as I finished talking to him, it started raining HARD. I didn’t care. I rejoiced with God that his word went out again today.


What I learnt

  1. God is faithful if you make yourself available
  2. Rain is not a deterrent to the Gospel
  3. I have issues. I make excuses and want the easy way out in life. I had to PUSH myself today. It didn’t comer naturally, but I’m glad I did.

What’s stopping you from sharing Jesus with ONE person tomorrow on your lunch break? Go and declare.

Yours

Pst Farayi

Leave a Reply

